Evan Turk featured in Varoom magazine!

Dalvero student Evan Turk is featured in the current issue of Varoom magazine! The magazine featured his reportage of the Gay Pride parade in Seattle, that he did while there with the Dalvero Academy last summer. Congratulations Evan!

From VAROOM: “Depicting the celebratory nature of a Gay Pride march is always going to include the most flamboyant participants, and Evan Turk’s drawings from this year’s parade in Seattle capture the muscle guys and drag queens with rapid lines and streaks of colour. He expands the story by turning his eye to those watching the march and equally celebrates the older people and possible first timers sharing an empowering event such as this.” -Derek Brazell for Varoom!

Here is the full interview:

Brief:  I was in a reportage workshop with Dalvero Academy in Seattle, and I discovered that the trip intersected with the Gay Pride Parade. Since I was missing the parade in New York after the gay marriage bill had just passed there, I decided I needed to go and draw the parade in Seattle.


Materials:  China marker, fountain pen, pastel, gouache

Research:  I looked at the work of inspiring reportage artists like Feliks Topolski and Daumier before heading out. Looking at different artists helps to get me in the right mindset for each event and to see things differently. I also try to do a little reading about the event and its history to help pick up on important symbols while I’m there.

Process:  I created a plan of thumbnails before starting the reportage, to figure out what I want, to make sure I cover the entire event. Then I just draw things as they come by, and make sure I capture everything I need to tell the complete story. It helps to have a plan, but then be able to deviate when unexpected things come along.

Motivations:  I created a project called “A Picture For A Thousand Voices” (http://blog.picturefor1000voices.com) to collect stories and create illustration for the gay rights movement. Since starting the project, I’ve gone to reportage various events related to gay rights in different cities, including this parade in Seattle.

Distractions:  Public nudity, lots of glitter, and people firing squirt guns into the audience.
Great work Evan! See more of Evan Turk’s work at evanturk.blogspot.com.

1 thought on “Evan Turk featured in Varoom magazine!

  1. Pingback: Frau Fingern

Leave a comment